
  

  

 

 

     

        

 

 

  

 

  

  

 

  

 

      

  

         

 

  

           

  

          

  

 

 

            

        

 

          

 

     

 

  

         

  

PLEASE NOTE: Publication for public comment is not, and shall not be construed as, a 

recommendation or approval by the Board of Trustees of the materials published. 

SUBJECT: 

Proposed amendments to Guidelines 12.1 and 12.2, Guidelines for Accredited Law School Rules 

(Guidelines), re Criteria for Determining Compliance with Accredited Law School Rule 4.160(M) 

(Minimum, Cumulative Bar Examination Pass Rate) and Action Taken When a Law School is in 

Noncompliance with Guideline 12.1 

BACKGROUND: 

Effective Jan. 1, 2013, all California-accredited law schools (CALS) became subject to a new 

accreditation standard that requires the school to maintain a “minimum, cumulative bar 

examination pass rate.” As required by Rule 4.160(M) of the Accredited Law School Rules 

(Rules) the CALS “must maintain a minimum, cumulative bar examination pass rate as 

determined and used by the Committee in the evaluation of the qualitative soundness of a law 

school’s program of legal education.” 

To enforce this new standard, the Committee also adopted two new amendments to the 

Guidelines for Accredited Law School Rules (Guidelines): Guidelines 12.1 and 12.2. Guideline 

12.1 sets the current, minimum, cumulative bar examination pass rate (MPR) at 40 percent and 

requires that the CALS calculate and report their respective rates as five year rolling, annual 

percentages. As currently described in Guideline 12.1, a CALS calculates its MPR by dividing the 

total number of its graduates who take and pass the California Bar Examination (CBX) over the 

previous five years, by the total number of its graduates who take the CBX at least once whether 

or not they pass during the same period of time. Graduates who choose never to take the CBX 

are not counted in calculating a school’s MPR. 

Guideline 12.2 requires the CALS to report their MPRs in their 2013 Annual Compliance Reports, 

and for any CALS that failed to report a MPR of at least 40 percent, the Committee could have 

issued a Notice of Noncompliance pursuant to Rule 4.170. One of the goals in adopting this new 

accreditation standard and the associated Guidelines was to have the CALS calculate and report 

a MPR that is accurate, consistent and verifiable. Soon after the adoption of Rule 4.160(M) and 

Guidelines 12.1 and 12.2, however, a number of CALS Deans expressed concern that the 

methodology described in Guideline 12.1 is unclear as to which CBX administrations the CALS 

should use, and which classes of eligible graduates were to be counted to calculate and report an 

accurate MPR. Concern was also expressed that, as adopted, the ambiguity of Guideline 12.1 

could lead to inaccurate and inconsistent reporting of this important new accreditation metric by 

some or all of the CALS. 



 

 

 

  

          

 

          

     

  

 

 

 

   

 

   

  

     

   

         

      

  

 

 

 

   

 

  

 

 

 

In recognition of these concerns, the Committee of Bar Examiners (Committee) deferred 

implementation of Guidelines 12.1 and 12.2, so that the requirement that the 2013 Annual 

Compliance Reports contain MPR reports was suspended until amendments to Guideline 12.1 

and Guideline 12.2 could be adopted. Amendments to the guidelines were discussed by the 

Committee’s Advisory Committee on California Accredited Law School Rules (RAC) and it 

submitted proposed amendments to the Guidelines for review by the Committee during its March 

14, 2014 meeting. The Committee accepted the version submitted by RAC, subject to a 30-day 

public comment period and final adoption by the Committee during its next regularly scheduled 

meeting. 

Any public comments received regarding the proposed amendments to Guideline 12.1 and 

Guideline 12.2 will be submitted to the Committee’s Advisory Committee on California Accredited 

Law School Rules (RAC) for its comments prior to final consideration by the Committee, which 

will be at its April 25 and 26, 2014 meeting. 

PROPOSAL: 

The proposed amendments to Guideline 12.1 and Guideline 12.2 are specific as to the time 

period for the five-year reporting periods. The primary goal in selecting the July 1 through June 30 

time period was so that the students who graduate in May and then take the following July 

administration of the CBX can be counted. Starting each fiveyear reporting period with the pass 

results of a July administration and ending it with a February administration, the CALS will be able 

to report the success of those graduates who graduate in the same five calendar years for each 

reporting period. The proposed amendments also clarify the methodology that should be used to 

make the calculations. 

ANY KNOWN FISCAL/PERSONNEL IMPACT: 

None 

ATTACHMENTS: 

Attachment A contains the proposed amendments to Guideline 12.1 and Guideline 12.2. 

SOURCE: 

Committee of Bar Examiners 

DEADLINE FOR COMMENTS: 

April 15, 2014 

http://www.calbar.ca.gov/Portals/0/documents/publicComment/2014/2014_Guideline12.1and12.2ForPublicComment_Attachments.pdf


 

 

  

 

  
  

  

 
   

   

 
 

  

 
 

     
 

   

 

  
   

 
 

  
  

  
 

  

 
 

   
  

 
 

 
  

  
 

Division 12. Minimum, Cumulative Bar Examination Pass Rate 

12.1 Criteria for Determining Compliance with Accredited Law School Rule 4.160(M). 
In evaluating the compliance of a law school with the accreditation standard set forth 
in Accredited Law School Rule 4.160(M), a law school must maintain a [Insert Text 
Begin]minimum,[Insert Text end] cumulative bar examination pass rate ([Deleted 
Text Begin]CBEPR[Deleted Text End][Insert Text Begin]MPR[Insert Text end]) of at 
least 40 percent[Insert Text Begin] for the most recent five-year period of time[Insert 
Text end]. The rate will be calculated [Insert Text Begin]and reported[Insert Text 
end] annually [Insert Text Begin]to the Committee on or before July 1st of the year 
following each reporting period.[Insert Text end][Deleted Text Begin]as a percentage 
of all the school’s students who (a) have graduated from the school within the past 
five years and (b) have taken and passed one of the tenth administrations of the 
California Bar Examination given following their graduation, [Deleted Text End] 

[Insert Text Begin]To calculate and report its MPR accurately, the law school must 
use the following reporting period and methodology: The reporting period covers the 
five most-recent twelve-month periods (July 1 through June 30) prior to the year in 
which the MPR is reported and it includes the pass/fail results of all students who 
graduate during this period.  The reporting period starts with the July administration 
of the California Bar Examination in the first year and ends with the February 
administration of the California Bar Examination in the same calendar year in which 
a MPR is reported.[Insert Text end] 

[Insert Text Begin]The methodology to be used to calculate a compliant MPR is a 
percentage of the total number of a law school’s graduates who take and pass any 
one of the ten administrations of the California Bar Examination during the reporting 
period,[Insert Text end] divided by the total number of the school’s graduates over 
the same [Deleted Text Begin]five years[Deleted Text End][Insert Text Begin]five-
year reporting period[Insert Text end] who take [Deleted Text Begin]any of those 
same ten administrations of [Deleted Text End]the California Bar Examination. 
Graduates who choose not to take any bar examination will not be included. 

12.2 Action Taken When a Law School is in Noncompliance with Guideline 12.1. 
If the Committee finds that a law school is not in compliance with this Guideline, it 
will issue a Notice of noncompliance pursuant to Rule 4.170. 

[Mandatory [Deleted Text Begin]calculation and [Deleted Text End]reporting of the 
[Deleted Text Begin]CBEPR[Deleted Text End][Insert Text Begin]MPR[Insert Text 
end] will [Insert Text Begin]begin July 1, 2014 with a reporting period that starts with 
the July 2009 administration of the California Bar Examination and ends with the 
administration of the February 2014 California Bar Examination. An accrediated law 
school must submit its MPR calculation using the Committee’s form.[Insert Text end] 
[Deleted Text Begin]go into effect with the submission of their 2013 Annual 
Compliance Report. With the submission of any 2013 Annual Compliance Report by 
any accrediated law school that does not report compliance with Guideline 12.1, 
t[Deleted Text End][Insert Text Begin]T[Insert Text end]he Committee may issue 
[Deleted Text Begin]that law school [Deleted Text End]a Notice of Noncompliance 



 

 

 

 
 
 

  
   

  
   

   
 

  
 

[Insert Text Begin]to an accrediated law school that is not in compliance with 
Guideline 12.1 by July 1, 2014[Insert Text end]. A[Deleted Text Begin]ny[Deleted 
Text End] law school that fails to report compliance with Guideline 12.1 in its 2016 
[Deleted Text Begin]Annual Compliance[Deleted Text End][Insert Text 
Begin]MPR[Insert Text end] Report [Deleted Text Begin]shall[Deleted Text 
End][Insert Text Begin]will[Insert Text end] be placed on probation by the Committee 
pursuant to Rule 4.172; a[Deleted Text Begin]ny[Deleted Text End] law school 
placed on probation [Deleted Text Begin]and [Deleted Text End]that [Deleted Text 
Begin]thereafter [Deleted Text End]does not meet the terms of its probation by the 
end of 2017 [Deleted Text Begin]shall[Deleted Text End] [Insert Text Begin]will[Insert 
Text end] be subject to the loss of its accreditation.] 

Guideline 12.1 & 12.2 adopted effective [Deleted Text Begin]January 1, 2013[Deleted Text 
End][Insert Text Begin]May 1, 2104.[Insert Text end] 
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