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BACKGROUND 

Guideline 7.11 of the Guidelines for Accredited Law School Rules restricts California-
accredited law schools (CALS) as to the total amount of credit they may offer students 
for classes taught outside of a traditional classroom.  Currently, CALS are limited to a 
maximum of twelve semester units (or their quarter equivalent) of credit for classes 
offered in a J.D. degree program taught remotely using “distance learning” technology.  
Today, such technology relies almost exclusively upon the Internet to offer either a 
synchronous (“real time”) or asynchronous (taped video or audio lectures or written 
correspondence) virtual classroom.  Guideline 7.11 also restricts the number of units to 
four that students may be taught using distance learning technology in a given semester 
and it bars the use of such technology in any class offered in the first year of law study.    

Since Guideline 7.11 went into effect in 2009, the Internet-based technology used in all 
forms of distance-learning education has improved significantly and it is now common in 
a variety of fixed-facility law schools, including those approved by the American Bar 
Association.  As to the CALS, with the recent opening of new branch campuses, along 
with those already operating, an increase is expected in the number of classes offered 
in the J.D. curriculum using distance-learning education as a cost-effective way to teach 
the same cohort of students studying at different campuses.  For the CALS that already 
offer such classes, students reportedly appreciate the opportunity to reduce the number 
of days or evenings they must to commute to attend classes in person.        

A proposed amendment to Guideline 7.11, which would eliminate both the current 
restriction that no more than four units of credit may be earned by a CALS student in 
any one semester and the current prohibition of using distance-learning technology to 
teach first-year of classes, was considered by the Committee’s Advisory Committee on 
California Accredited Law School Rules (RAC) during its meeting in June and it 
recommended that the Committee approve the proposed amendment. 
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During its June 2015 meeting, the Committee approved, in principle, the recommended 
amendment to Guideline 7.11, subject to a 45-day public comment period. Attachment 
A is the red-lined version of Guideline 7.11 with the proposed amendment.        
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DISCUSSION 

To date, no public comments relating to the proposed amendment to Guideline 7.11 
have been received.  Should any comments be received by the close of the public 
comment period, they will be reported to both the RAC and to the Committee at their 
respective upcoming meetings.         

RECOMMENDATION 

It is recommended that after a 45-day public comment period, during which no 
comments were received, the proposed amendment to Guideline 7.11 (Distance-
Education Credit) of the Guidelines for Accredited Law School Rules, be adopted, 
effective the date of the Committee’s action.   

PROPOSED MOTION 

Should the Subcommittee agree with the above recommendation, the following motion 
is suggested: 

Move that, following a 45-day public comment period during which no 
comments were received, the proposed amendment to Guideline 7.11 
(Distance-Education Credit) of the Guidelines for Accredited Law 
School Rules in the form attached hereto be adopted, effective as of 
the date of this action.                                      
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